Uncategorized

Meet the Teacher.

Hi and Welcome! Thank you for starting this wonderful and hopefully insightful journey with me!

As a wife (married for just over a year), teacher, sister (oldest of 4 girls), daughter, Christ follower (If you live in the Hilliard, OH area and need a church home, come check out MovementColumbus) and friend, I am blessed with many thoughts and ambitions that feel I have a duty to share. In hopes of continuing my own personal and professional growth as well as facilitating the growth of others, I decided to start my journey of writing with the Rhodes to Teaching Blog. Thank goodness my husband has a last name that can be easily added into a title, “Giardina to Teaching” just doesn’t have the same ring to it!

In 24 days, I will begin my 6th year of teaching! I graduated from The Ohio State University in the summer of 2016 with my Masters in School Administration and from Capital University in 2012 with a middle childhood (grades 4-9) teaching license. My content areas of focus were math and science, but I also obtained my generalist certificate for 4th, 5th and 6th grade in language arts and social studies. This allowed me to be hired at the Elementary school I currently teach at as a 6th grade self contained teacher. After my first year of teaching, our team departmentalized and I taught 6th grade math for the next 4 years. For the 2017-2018 school year, our building is re-structuring the middle grade teams, and I will be teaching math and science this year on a 5th and 6th grade team.

This change in content and modification of grade level comes with both nerves and excitement. After obtaining my masters and principal license, I was in search and need of a different teaching experience before making the switch to the administration side of the teaching world, and this 5/6 team was a perfect solution for that need.

 

Leave a Reply

